Kootenai healthask your librarian
The Medical Library is open Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:30pm.
Authorized personnel have 24 hour, 7 days a week access.




Databases

PubMed / Medline PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

UpToDate UpToDate is the largest clinical community in the world dedicated to synthesizing knowledge for clinicians and patients. Our community includes more than 3,800 expert clinicians who function as authors, editors and peer reviewers and over 340,000 users who provide feedback and questions to our editorial group. Our role is to facilitate interaction among members of the health care community and to synthesize and disseminate information in order to help doctors be better doctors. (not available off-site)

MDConsult MD Consult brings the leading medical resources together into one integrated online service to help physicians efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions and make better treatment decisions.

The Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics is an independent, peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication that offers unbiased critical evaluations of drugs, with special emphasis on new drugs, to physicians and other members of the health professions. It evaluates virtually all new drugs and reviews older drugs when important new information becomes available on their usefulness or adverse effects. Published every other week in a four-page newsletter format, it carries no advertising.

Micromedex
MICROMEDEX is a collection of many different drug databases, including Martindale, the Physician’s Desk Reference (PDR), DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, POISONDEX, and several alternative medicine databases. Drugs can be searched by trade name, generic name, or even “street” name.  MICROMEDEX is an excellent source of drug indication, dosage, drug interaction and side effect information, as well as poison control information.  It covers all FDA approved medications as well as a database of alternative medicines.

CareNotes CareNotes™ documents enable you to conveniently provide your patients with complete, easy-to-understand information about all aspects of their care and health. Presented in English and Spanish, the System's concise, customizable materials address patient condition, treatment, laboratory tests, follow-up care, psychosocial issues, continuing health, and the most frequently administered drugs.

Lippincott's Nursing Procedures & Skills Lippincott's Nursing Procedures and Skills provides detailed descriptions of procedures in a program that allows users to identify the procedure they need quickly and easily. Nurses can scroll through an alphabetical list, browse by nursing or clinical category, or perform a search to identify a particular procedure. Each entry provides complete instructions, including the equipment needed, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, documentation, and references.

MSDS Data Sheets Material Safety Data Sheets

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Scientific Gold Standard for Evidence-Based, Clinical Information on Natural Medicines

Lactmed A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider

NIH-Office of Rare Diseases Research The ORDR Web site aims to answer questions about rare diseases and the activities of the ORDR for patients, their families, healthcare providers, researchers, educators, students, and anyone with concern for and interest in rare diseases. The site provides information about ORDR-sponsored biomedical research, scientific conferences, and rare and genetic diseases. It also serves as a portal to information on major topics of interest to the rare diseases community


EBSCO databases


OVID databases

ProQuest databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library